Faculty News

Two USC Rossier faculty members receive prestigious education fellowship

Jessica T. DeCuir-Gunby and Christopher Emdin join distinguished Class of 2023 AERA fellows

By Ellen Evaristo Published on

Professor Jessica T. DeCuir-Gunby and Professor Christopher Emdin have been selected as 2023 American Educational Research Association (AERA) fellows. Joining 24 peers, the program recognizes scholars for their contributions to education research.

“AERA Fellows demonstrate the highest standards of excellence, and we are pleased to welcome this year’s class,” said AERA Executive Director Felice J. Levine. “The 2023 AERA Fellows join a prestigious group of exceptional scholars and deserve this honor because of their significant contributions to the field.”

DeCuir-Gunby is a professor of education in the Educational Psychology concentration. Her research interests include the impact of race and racism on the educational experiences of African Americans, racial identity development, emotions and coping related to racism, critical race theory and mixed methods research. DeCuir-Gunby is also an associate editor for Review of Educational Research and serves on the editorial boards for Contemporary Educational Psychology and Educational Psychologist.

Emdin is a professor of education, the Robert Naslund Endowed Chair in Curriculum and Teaching and director of Youth Engagement and Community Partnerships at the USC Race and Equity Center. His research focuses on democratizing science and transforming urban education. As a scholar, best-selling author and impassioned advocate of educational equity, Emdin’s unique approach to school incorporates hip-hop music and culture to transform science teaching. He discusses the importance of student engagement, STEAM and the art and legacy of teaching.

“Professor DeCuir-Gunby and Professor Emdin’s impact have been widely felt, from innovative approaches to STEM education to equity and mixed methods research,” said USC Rossier Dean Pedro Noguera. “USC Rossier congratulates them both for this well-deserved honor.”

The 2023 Fellows, nominated by their peers, will be inducted during a ceremony at the 2023 Annual Meeting in Chicago on April 14.

Article Type