The Academy: Leadership Giving

Academy members are among the school’s most generous and loyal supporters. These alumni and friends have an immeasurable impact on helping USC Rossier maintain the highest level of excellence that produces innovative thinkers, global leaders and pioneering change agents in the world of education.

Membership is open to all alumni and friends of USC Rossier who make a gift totaling $500 or more within the fiscal year of July 1–June 30. Gifts may be designated to the USC Rossier Annual Fund, General Scholarship Fund or another area of interest.

Levels of Giving

Total gift amount may include matching funds to Rossier.

Annual Members

Academy Masters – $10,000+

Academy Fellows – $5,000

Academy Scholars – $2,500

Academy Mentors – $1,000

Academy Educators – $500


Membership Courtesies

Academy Brochure


Making a Difference

Academy Members Genaro F. Carapia and wife Lai Tan

“My wife, Lai Tan, and I support Rossier because we truly believe that one of education’s most cherished virtues is HOPE. Our annual gift supports future educators and administrators who will truly make a difference in shaping young minds.”

Genaro F. Carapia MS ’84

Member of the Academy

Academy Member Honor Roll 2020

Thank you to all of our donors who generously supported the USC Rossier School of Education during fiscal year 2020 (July 1, 2019–June 30, 2020). Your gifts play an essential role in sustaining and expanding our student experience, programs and faculty research.

The following Honor Roll includes Academy members who supported Rossier with gifts of $500 or more.

*New Academy Member

◊ Multi-Year Pledge Payment

† Deceased

David Hagen ’67, MS ’68, EdD ’93 and Veronica Hagen ’68◊

Donald Matsumori MS ’60, MLA ’76, PhD ’82 †

Neil Matsumori ’63

Randall Miller EdD ’86 and Susan Miller

Joan E. Herman and Richard Rasiej◊


Alidad Khayami and Samira Khayami

Frank E. Baxter and Kathrine Baxter

Virginia Campbell ’55

Mary James and Daniel James

Roger J. Rossier MS ’62, EdD ’72

Elliot Sainer and Marcia Sainer

James & Glenys Slavik Family Foundation

Margaret Chidester EdD ’95 and Stephen Chidester

Michael Fitzgerald *

Karen Symms Gallagher and Raymond J. Gallagher◊

Deborah Goldman MBA ’93 and Jonathan Goldman

John and Cindy McCain Family Foundation

Christina McKinney ’68 and H. Webber McKinney ’68, MS ’69 ◊

Dustin McLemore EdD ’18 and Christine McLemore ◊

Peter Weil and Julie Weil

Robert Abeles and Judith Abeles *

Jeffrey Backhus JD ’98 and Leah Backhus MD ’00 *◊

Helen Bogatin ’44, MS ’47†

Reveta Bowers ’70 and Robert Bowers

Sally Butterbaugh Alvino ’72, MS ’74

Genaro Carapia MS ’84 and Lai Tan Carapia

CTBC Bank Corporation (USA)

Carol Fox MS ’62

Kavita Gupta and Rahul Gupta◊

Thomas Halvorsen EdD ’80 and Barbara Halvorsen ’70, MS ’71

John Katzman and Alicia Ernst

Peter Mather EdD ’81

Milton Meler ’70, MBA ’71

Christine Marie Ofiesh ’82

Maria Ott PhD ’94 and Thomas Ott

Lawrence Picus and Susan Pasternak

Patricia Poon ’65 and Dudley Poon◊

Jean Schultz and William Schultz

Karen Sherman ’90 and Chris Sherman ’90

Shelley Adams EdD ’17 ◊ *

William Allen ’79 and Marie Allen ’78

David Cash EdD ’08 and Heather Cash EdD ’18 ◊

Terry Crawford

Jacquelyn Dylla MPT ’94, DPT ’01

Robert Ferris PhD ’65 and Pauline Ferris PhD ’79

Marjory Newell MS ’74 and Frank Newell JD ’75

Charlene Shimada ’91 and Thomas Shimada ’88

Wendy Sidley MS ’95

Gerald Whitehead ’81 and Melody Whitehead

Teri Adams MBA ’04

Lester Baer MS ’71

James Berchtold

James Berk and Jane Berk

Dennis Byas EdD ’07 and Barbara Byas *

Rudy Castruita EdD ’82 and Jean Castruita

Mary Couvillon ’61 and Lucien Couvillon *

Arwen Duffy and Sean Duffy *

Howard Farber ’79 and Rebekah Farber

Nadine Farber MS ’80, MSW ’90

Gregory Franklin ’83, EdD ’97 and Debbie Franklin

Max Futrell EdD ’86

Masae Gotanda PhD ’77

Stuart Gothold EdD ’74 and Jane Gothold

Winston Grace and Maria Grace *

Walton Greene ’63

Carolyn Haugen EdD ’91

Charles Hinman EdD ’02

Janie Honeycutt MCG ’19 *

Sharon Hoyt ’64 and Howard Hoyt

Kevin Hryciw EdD ’17

Douglas Kimberly EdD ’08 and Cathie Ferdula-Kimberly

Gregory Kling and Sheri Kling *

Mary Jo Lass PhD ’66Ortha Lehman MS ’63

Bren Leisure ’74 and Lawrence Leisure

Donald Leisey EdD ’73 and Patricia Leisey

Mary Loughridge EdD ’87

Tena Mitchell MS ’76

Michelle Moore MAT ’16

Jenelle Marsh-Mullet ’91 and Scott Mullet ’87

Brent Noyes ’75, MS ’79 and Virginia Noyes

Louis Pappas EdD ’91 and Leslie Pappas

Margo Pensavalle EdD ’93 and Lawrence Gross

Marlene Pollack-Taussig ’69 and Eric Taussig

Maxine Cooper Thompson MS ’76 *

L’Cena Brunskill Rice ’53, MS ’59

John Roach EdD ’88 and Johanna Roach ’75

Dianne Saurenman MS ’71, PhD ’77

Sheree Speakman and Gary Giuntoli

Edward Sullivan III ’87, MS ’92, PhD ’98

Katherine Thorossian EdD ’09

David Verdugo EdD ’05 and Susanna Verdugo

Gloria Bess Widmann MS ’69

Michael Wilson MS ’72 and Jerrilyn Wilson

Sonja Yates EdD ’90

Candace Yee ’68, MS ’69 and James Yee MS ’66, PhD ’74

Ruben Zepeda II EdD ’05 † and Sarah Zepeda EdD ’17

Sherilyn Amos-Grosser ’04

Gerald Angove PhD ’73 and Constance Angove

Bobby Avant ’62, MS ’63 and Deanna Avant

Kevin Baxter EdD ’04 and Kimberley Baxter

Rachel Beal and Ron Beal

Rita Darlene Bishop EdD ’01 and Lewis Bishop

John Bogie EdD ’86 and Judy Bogie

Sally Botzler PhD ’89 and Richard Botzler

Melanie Brady EdD ’12 *

Donald Brann Jr. ’68 EdD ’82 and Sari Brann

Manuel Burciaga EdD ’17 and Erin Burciaga

Roy Chinn DDS ’79 and Jo Ann Chinn

David Clark MS ’76 and Janet Clark

Melba Coleman PhD ’80 and George Coleman Jr.

Bridget Collier EdD ’09 *

Nina Crum and Michael Crum

Anthony Dalessi PhD ’82

Hasmik Danielian EdD ’09 and Arsen Danielian JD

Jean Davidson EdD ’93 *

Matt DeGrushe ME ’04 and Nick Simmons

James Elsasser EdD ’11 and Lori Elsasser

Steven Fish EdD ’97 and Susan Fish

Michael Gladden MS ’68 and Sandy Gladden

Stephen Goldstone EdD ’77 and Linda Goldstone

Elizabeth Hall Hamilton EdD ’12

Peggy Hayward EdD ’89 and Stanley Hayward

Merrill Irving EdD ’07 and Jose Irving *

Sandra N. Kaplan MS ’70Debbie Katsogianes ’83, MS ’85

Catherine Kawaguchi EdD ’14

Patricia Leader ’77

Helaine Lopes ’80, MS ’82, PhD ’91 and Steven Lopes MA ’86, MBA ’94 *

Rose Lyon MS ’64, PhD ’77 *

Maria Martinez-Poulin EdD ’17 *

William McDermott MS ’70 PhD ’77 and Sandra McDermott

Michael McLaughlin PhD ’77 and Marlena McLaughlin

Mary McNeil MS ’80, PhD ’96

Melissa Moore EdD ’14

Deborah Myman ’70, MS ’74 and Robert Myman JD ’70

Kathleen Nitta ’70

Rauline Ochs MBA ’85

Nancy Plunkett MS ’69 and Thomas Plunkett

Darline Robles PhD ’93 and Frank Robles

Joel Shawn EdD ’93

Julie Slayton

Wesley Smith EdD ’05 and Julie Smith

Gail Spann-Greer EdD ’09

David Spokely *

Joyce Stout ’90, MS ’93 and Jared Stout ’98, MS ’06 *

Charles Talbert ’79 and Katherine Talbert *

Marilyn Thomas ’62, MS ’74

Nancy Tuz MAT ’15 and Peter Tuz

Chao-Ying Wang PhD ’85 *

Learn More

For more information about The Academy, reach out to Rachel Beal. 

Rachel Beal

Rachel Beal

Executive Director of Advancement