Alumni Achievements

Dr. Todd A. DeMitchell Ed.D. ‘79, professor and chair of the Department of Education at the University of New Hampshire, was awarded the 2010 Distinguished Professor award from UNH. DeMitchell just published his fifth book, Labor Relations in Education.

Dr. Jarrett T. Gupton Ph.D. ‘09 was awarded the Association for the Study of Higher Education (ASHE) Bobby Wright Dissertation of the Year Award for his dissertation titled “Pathways to College for Homeless Adolescents.” The dissertation examines the barriers and facilitators to success homeless youth experience along their pathways to college.

Dr. Talin Pushian Kargodorian Ed.D. ‘08 was appointed Principal of the college preparatory school, AGBU Vatche & Tamar Manoukian High School in Pasadena, California.

Dr. Elsa Mendoza Ed.D. ‘05 accepted the position of Principal for Venice High School. The high school in Local District 6 has a student population of 2,500.

Dr. Thanh Truc T. Nguyen Ed.D. ‘07 was selected to be among Phi Delta Kappa (PDK) International’s 2010-2011 Class of Emerging Leaders. She currently works at the College of Education Curriculum Research & Development Group (CRDG) at the University of Hawai’i at Mānoa.

Dr. Youn Joo Oh Ed.D. ‘08 is collaborating on the research and evaluation of a Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math Education for the 21st Century (STEM21) project, funded with $4.5 million by the U.S. Department of Education.

Dr. Tammi Oyadomari-Chun Ed.D. ‘10 was recently appointed to serve on Hawaii Governor Neil Abercrombie’s policy team to oversee policy initiatives and legislative issues. The Hawaii Ed.D. alumna is Executive Director of Hawaii P-20 Partnerships for Education, a statewide partnership working to strengthen the education pipeline from early childhood through higher education.

Ken Peters MS ‘48 was awarded the USC Rossier Alumni Lifetime Achievement Award in December for his significant contributions to the field of education, the community, and USC. The World War II Navy veteran served as principal of Montebello Senior High School and Beverly Hills High School before serving as Superintendent of Schools for Beverly Hills Unified School District from 1959 to 1982.

Dr. Deborah Stark Ed.D. ‘01, Paramount Unified School District Educational Services Director, was honored by the California Association of School Counselors as their California State Administrator of the Year. Her work coordinating a professional development program for K-12 counselors in the district has become a model for districts across the state, according to the association.

Dr. Christian Teeter Ed.D. ‘10 was selected to receive the 2010 Association of Community College Trustees (ACCT) Pacific Regional Professional Board Staff Member Award. Teeter is the Secretary of the Board of Trustees for Coast Community Colleges in Costa Mesa.


This article was featured in the Winter / Spring 2011 issue of Rossier’s Futures in Urban Ed magazine.

Click here to see more articles from that issue and click here to download a PDF of the magazine.